Georgia O’Keeffe A Woman Ahead Of Her Time

I’ve been absolutely terrified every moment of my life –

and I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do.” 

~  Georgia O’Keeffe   1887 – 1986

When I was in college, I took a class that focused on discovering the type of artist you were and expand upon that style.  Our professor had us doodle in a notebook for a week.  After that week he took us aside, looked through our random doodles and suggested an artist that we most resembled.   My artist was Georgia O’Keeffe.  I’m embarrassed to say that I knew little to nothing about her as a teen and was surprised to see her art and how much mine resembled her style.   The more I researched Georgia’s life, the more she interested and inspired me.  To this day, I still love her work and her strength to be in individualist no matter how difficult it was.   Below is one of my favorite photos of Georgia O’Keeffe, a woman truly ahead of her time!   ~ Regina, Owner Steel Cowgirl

Leave a Reply

